New England Surgical Society
New England Surgical Society

Summer 2021 Newsletter

Summer 2021 Newsletter
» President's Message
» Newsletter Editor's Corner
» Secretary's Message
» Recorder's Message
» Program Chair's Message
» State Representative Updates
» GME & Candidate Membership Chair's Message
» Notice of 2021 Annual Meeting
» New Member Committee Chair's Message
» New Members Elected in 2021
» Task Force on Diversity & Inclusivity
» Dues Renewal
» Committee and Representative Listing
» NESS Job Board

500 Cummings Center
Suite 4400
Beverly, MA 01915
Tel. (978) 927-8330
Fax: (978) 524-8890

Task Force on Diversity & Inclusivity

The Task Force on Diversity and Inclusion of the New England Surgical Society has worked to find opportunities to enhance the membership and Society activities through increased engagement and diversity of our members. Our mission is to enhance the organization's established history of promoting surgery and to continue cultivating an environment of mutual respect, equity, and inclusion.

As we move forward, we have set two short-term goals:

  1. Establish the baseline demographics of the current membership body of the NESS; and
  2. Identify how the NESS might better serve its membership with an eye to the shared values of respect, equity, and inclusion.

We need your help! Please update your membership profile by answering all of the newly added demographic questions to support this critical organizational initiative to strengthen the NESS. Responses will be for internal use only and will be used exclusively to understand the composition of NESS' membership and to identify areas where further mentorship and sponsorship can be of value. All members are asked to answer the demographic questions by October 15, 2021.

NESS Task Force on Diversity & Inclusivity

Alisa Savetamal, MD
Jacqueline J. Wu, MD

Richard J. Barth, Jr, MD
Ricardo J. Bello, MD, MPH
Loreski Collado, MD
Marlene Cutitar, MD
Albert W. Dibbins, MD
Andrew J. Duffy, MD
Denise W. Gee, MD
Piyush Gupta, MD
Richard H. Koehler, MD
Anne C. Larkin, MD
Kathleen A. LaVorgna, MD
Bruce J. Leavitt, MD
Walter E. Longo, MD
Thomas J. Miner, MD
Malcolm K. Robinson, MD
Kari Rosenkranz, MD
Christopher D. Strader, MD
Margaret A. Tandoh, MD
Thomas F. Tracy, Jr., MD
Sivamainthan Vithiananthan, MD

Next Article